Welcome to Project Dalek

You need to be a member in order to access our content.

Click Here To Join!

For instant access to the plans and all Forum features, choose Active Membership.

Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
mondas42

Making The Eye Stalk And Discs

2 posts in this topic

Hi

im a newbie, and will be starting my dalek build soon. Ive been reading the build guide and lots of threads on here so I can build up my knowledge but I have a couple of questions regarding the eye stalk build. I guess these have been asked before and for that I apologise. First question re the discs. Ive sourced the parts needed on the EMA website but understand that they need to be reduced in size. Without a lathe or access to one, what's the best method for doing this?

second question is the construction of the stalk itself. I would have thought as a layman that you get the aluminium tube in the correct diameter and attach everything to it, although I am unsure on how you would make the hole in the discs big enough without cracking them. However, after doing a bit of digging, I also believe that the correct method is to use a thinner inner tube and slide the bits over this? Which is correct? And if this is the case why this method?

Sorry for been a bit thick.

Martin

There's more than one way to skin a Slyther.

I would suggest you do more reading of build diaries & look into the appendages section in greater depth, as a lot of the same questions get asked by newbies & repeatedly giving the same answers just clogs up the forum (as well as a little irksome).

That said, first establish what type you are going to build, from your comments I'm guessing NSD