Welcome to Project Dalek

You need to be a member in order to access our content.

Click Here To Join!

For instant access to the plans and all Forum features, choose Active Membership.

andygrove

Arduino Voice Modulator

275 posts in this topic

I've started this thread to document my attempt at building a digital ring modulator using an Arduino. I don't know how well this will work compared to an analog ring modulator but I'm actually going to be trying both. I need something working by Halloween even if it isn't perfect.

I'm pretty new to Arduino and totally new to programming anything related to sound processing. I also only have a basic understanding of electronics, so this has been a very steep learning curve already.

I found this very helpful web page which also has example ring modulator source code.

http://interface.khm...dio-processing/

I was able to modify this example to get an initial version working and I thought it wasn't too bad apart from lots of background noise. This is partly because I'm running with a breadboard and with wires loosely wrapped around audio jacks etc. but also I understand I need something called a low-pass filter to remove noise (I haven't researched that part yet).

The actual code I'm running is available here. It is set up for the Arduino Mega 2560 and a couple of lines of code will need modifying to run on other boards because of differences in timer/pin mappings. I'm going to document this in the code shortly.

https://github.com/a...k_ringmodulator

The input to the board is an electret mic with built in pre-amp that I got from sparkfun for $8. The output is a pair of active PC speakers that obviously have their own amp built in. The Arduino is just reading the input at 15 KHz and combining it with an approximately 30 Hz sine wave before writing the signal to the output.